Saints vs. Colts; Fans vs. Rotel

Back in 1992, during Super Bowl XXVI as the Redskins played the Bills, I was but a few days shy of the 40-week mark in my first pregnancy. I got tired of negotiating the full 12 feet between the couch and the host’s dining table, so I pulled up a chair to the table and helped myself to Rotel dip from the Crock Pot. It was the real deal variety of Rotel dip, with chunks of sausage and enough Velveeta to kill a horse. By third quarter, the Crock Pot was nothing more than a shell with a crusty residue, and I was licking the spoon. My husband looked across the room and shouted above everyone, “My GOSH! Are you still eating that?” Observant and honest.

Super Bowl XXVI was played Jan. 26, only four days before my due date. Rotel dip, with all its chilies and spices, was to be my Pitocin in food form. In the end, it only caused other problems. That baby was so filled with sausage and processed cheese that she just stayed there for another 13 days, missing her due date and darn near missing her first birthday. I was miserable, but she probably was, too. What else could she do but lie there? She just stretched out and put her arm over her face and hoped for the best. On Feb. 9, provoked by a Waffle House breakfast consisting of scattered, smothered and covered hash browns, she sighed and said, “OK, that’s about enough of that,” and she came into this world, screaming and whining about heartburn and reflux.

Rotel dip was at its height of popularity back in the early ’90s, but has it ever really gone out of style? I think not. Rotel dip is the kind of timeless, sodium-packed cheese dip that caused my friend Rachel to overindulge in during this most recent Christmas break. She woke up the following morning with eyes so swollen she couldn’t see. All she could say was, “How much dip did I eat?” She was suffering a cheese dip hangover. And that’s saying something.

Today’s entry is a reader service, complete with photo and recipe.

Rotel cheese and sausage dip is a real crowd pleaser, but remember: moderation is key.

ROTEL DIP

1 can Rotel tomatoes with green chilies
1 lb. box Velveeta cheese
1 lb. sausage
1 bag nacho chips
Brown and drain sausage, add small pieces of Velveeta cheese until melted. Add drained Rotel tomatoes and green chilies. Simmer until hot.
